CCL D6; Buckingham Town CC III’s host ‘Low high in confidence

Buckingham Town CC III’s host fourth placed Bledlow Village II’s on Saturday at Elmfield Gate looking for maximum points to keep them at the summit of the Cherwell Cricket League Division Six table, they need the win with the top three sides all separated by just four points! After two successive defeats Bledlow bounced back last week with victory over Banbury so will be looking to continue their run as they chase down those three teams above them, Town cantered to victory at Twyford II’s in a low scoring game so both sides come into this with some confidence.

Ryan Spragg

This week Sports Shots caught up with Town skipper Brij Valambhia to gauge his thoughts on last week’s win:

On a day where rain nearly threatened to ruin our day, we have to say thank you to the Twyford lads for getting the game on, we did our job and played at our level, a fantastic bounce back from the guys. Ryan Spragg is Mr Consistency and Dom Pritchard just keep taking wickets up top, I could not have asked for a better start, they both bowled well in partnership and took six early wickets. Tom Taylor was a great asset by providing that extra pace, & overall we were back to normal business which basically means a great performance. Mike Taylor let lose his cut shots but died by that sword in the end but Ryan Bell and Alex Gilder all did their jobs. It was the perfect result following our defeat the week before and guys are working hard to make winning a habit

Onto this week’s game with Bledlow, how does the team view this game?

Firstly we hope it stops raining for us to get the game on. Bledlow Village will be a tough game and we are full expecting a challenge again, we are going to keep playing our brand of cricket and execute our plans to make sure we get those twenty-five points again

Squad news:

Our team this week has been strengthened yet again with Andy Humphries returning from the two’s. We retain the same side with the exception of Joe Clark who is not available and is replaced by Russell Thompson


Mike Taylor
Ryan Bell
Alex Gilder
Vishal Valambhia
Greg Wise
Russell Thompson
Andy Humphries
Dom Pritchard
Brijesh Valambhia
Ryan Spragg
Tom Taylor

Start: 12.30pm

Comments are closed.