SNCL D3 & 4 Cup Final: Gawcott & Hillesden are T20 Champions!

Gawcott & Hillesden are the South Northants Cricket League Division 3 & 4 T20 Champions.

Gawcott & Hillesden CC 2018

They edged a very nervy last few overs to win by just four-runs in a throughly entertaining final in front of a large crowd at their Richard Roper Field ground this Sunday lunchtime.

For match photography please click here:


Gawcott & Hillesden batted first with skipper Alex Piggott and John Patterson (26) give them a positive start.

After losing a couple of wickets it was Colin Piggott (31) who led the way with Kyle Bennion (11) and Jonny Dale (10) both good support.

Piggott eventually fell near the close of their 20 overs as his side scrambled some late runs to post 111 for 8.

Arlo Jackson’s three for 17 from five overs was an outstanding spell for Chipping Warden.

Many present felt the home side were under par but Jonny Dale’s two for 16 gave them an upbeat start, one of the victims courtesy of a brilliant one-handed catch from Matt Folkes.

Throughout the Chipping Warden innings Mark Horrocks (43 not out) was a constant threat.

James Carlin, one for 21 from 5 overs, bowled an excellent line and length and made runs difficult to come by for the visitors.

As the game neared the end, it was Colin Piggott who returned to take two key wickets to set up an exciting last over.

Folkes showed fantastic character in taking responsibility for the final six deliveries.

The left-armer bowled a tight line as Will Eastwood took a stumping, before claiming his third victim.

With six runs required off the final ball it was Gawcott & Hillesden, supported by many from other local clubs, who lifted the trophy with a victory by the narrowest margin.

Folkes finished with three for 25 from his five overs.

Colin Piggott collected the Man of the Match award for his 31 runs and two for 23 from 5 overs.


Comments are closed.