Archive for Horspath Cricket Club

HCPCL: Horspath sign experienced former Shipton all-rounder Sanklecha

Horspath have moved quickly to sign Anupam Sanklecha for their 2020 Home Counties Premier League, Division 2 campaign.

Anupam Sanklecha

The experienced Indian all-round joins as Horspath look to bounce back at the first attempt following relegation.

Sanklecha was at Shipton-under-Wychwood for five seasons, during which time he took 245 league wickets, twice finishing the leading wicket taker in the division. He claimed 63 wickets when claiming the accolade in the 2017 season.

With the bat Sanklecha racked up 1,708 league runs at an average of 27.59 with a top score of an unbeaten 110 at Datchet in 2017 when he enjoyed his best campaign with 608 runs. He didn’t play last season following Shipton’s relegation in 2018, but is now preparing for another campaign in India with Maharashtra for whom he has taken 200 first-class wickets at an average of 25.60 and scored 923 runs.

Read more on the new Horspath signing on their website – CLICK HERE

Home Counties Premier League, Division 1 – Matchday 15 round-up

Henley are closing in on their third consecutive Home Counties Premier League, Division 1 title.

Victory at Buckingham Town, their eleventh in 15 outings, sees Henley now 56 points clear of second placed Banbury.

Michael Roberts – Henley

HCPCL, D1: Town lose to top of the table Henley (Reports Andrew Holland)

Lloyd Sabin’s side defeated Datchet with Joe Thomas collecting three wickets – Match Scorecard HERE

Joe Thomas – Banbury

Aston Rowant remain fourth despite their defeat at Finchampstead – Match Scorecard HERE

Bucks skipper Tom Hampton took four for 36 as High Wycombe defeated Horspath by seven wickets at London Road – Match Scorecard HERE

Tom Hampton – High Wycombe

Finally, Tring Park won a very dramatic game at Slough by one wicket off the last ball of the game.

Andy Harris

Chloe Hill

Andy Harris and Chloe Hill shared an unbeaten last wicket partnership of 23 runs, including five penalty runs for a slow over rate, to give the visitors maximum points.

Michael Payne hit 70 for Tring Park while Saif Zaib returned with three wickets for the home side.

Earlier Slough posted 228 for 9 from their 50 overs with Bucks Academy’s Scott Rolfe taking three for 16.

HCPL D1: Horspath captain looking to improve in 2019 as they head to Tring Park

Horspath captain Will Eason has spoken to Sports Shots as his side head to Tring Park for their 2019 league opener.

Will Eason

The man at the helm at Horspath has Darryl Brown returning as the club’s overseas, while all-rounder Jay Parmar and batsman Kyle Hopper join from West Bromwich Dartmouth and Oxford University,respectively.

Darryl Brown

Eason told Sports Shots:

Our Pre-season has gone very well which will hopefully stand us in good stead for the 2019 season.

We have made some good additions to the squad and there is a healthy competition for places, which can only help us gain positive results, as we would love to improve on where we finished in the table this season.

On Sunday, Horspath go to last year’s runners-up in the Royal London Club Championship, Stanmore after defeating Chesham in the previous round.

Horspath: Will Eason (Captain), Rob Eason, Tom Coleman, James Phillips, Darryl Brown, Tom Cosford, Jay Parmar, Kyle Hopper, Mark Skelton, Asad Rafiq, Lloyd Belcher.

HCPCL,D1: Horspath skipper looking for his side to ‘push on’

Horspath skipper Will Eason is looking for his side to push on as they start their Home Counties Premier League, division 1 campaign with a trip to Slough on Saturday.

Will Eason. Picture: Helen Messenger.

Eason told Sports Shots:

We did well to stay up and it is now important that we progress and push on.

Player-wise, we have recruited seamer Liam Manley from Great & Little Tew, Will Hawton joins from Banbury and will be available once his university commitments are over in June, plus we’ve brought in Oxford Brookes duo Elliot Miles and Will Robertson.

It will also be an advantage to have an overseas available for the whole season with experienced South African Darryl Brown coming in to the side.

James Phillips is available again for us, which again is a boost.

Horspath: Will Eason (Captain), Robbie Eason, Tom Coleman, James Fitzjohn, James Phillips, Darryl Brown, Tom Cosford, Mark Skelton, Jamil Faruq, Lloyd Belcher, Liam Manley.